Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop
This French Colonial Cottage, with its provincial thatched slate roof, escaped the two great fires of 1788 and 1794, which destroyed most of the French Quarter’s old French colonial architecture. The devastation left the colony’s new Spanish overlords to rebuild it according to more modern tastes and strict new fire codes. In its youth, Lafitte's served as a hideaway for pirates. Reputed to be the "oldest operating bar in the U.S.," it remains to this day lit only by candles.
Jean Lafitte…Privateer, Entrepreneur, Sailor, Diplomat, Spy and Hero of the Battle of New Orleans, led a colorful and mysterious life. According to legend, the structure was once owned by the pirate Lafitte, though as with many things involving Lafitte, no documentation of this exists. The property is believed to have been used by Jean and his brother Pierre as a New Orleans base for their Barataria smuggling operation. Like most New Orleans legends, Lafitte’s Blacksmith Shop is a "Gumbo of Truth" with French, Spanish, African, Cajun and American embellishments. The ghosts of Jean Lafitte and his lover have been seen wandering throughout the bar and courtyard by staff, owners, locals and visitors alike! The Pirate’s Cove courtyard, adjacent to the building, is picturesque and charming.
Reception Style Capacities
Visit the Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop Website
941 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Private Parties Sales| Special Event Inquiries
"If you’re looking for a place that's shrouded in mystery, and a character that's a total enigma, this place is just great," says Barbara Sillery.